You have no idea how new I am

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by The Wizard of BC, Dec 8, 2009.

1. The Wizard of BC

The Wizard of BC Newcomer

First Name:
    Steve
    Hi, my name is Steve and I bought a forum.

Is there a 12 step plan for this?

I was referred to this site because the forum I bought is the largest and most active in our niche. But we have some problems.

The first problem is that I am not a programmer. I don't know PHP and in fact know very little about forums. I think I have joined more forums in the last month than in my entire life.

The forum I bought is Kilts.

As you can see there was never and overall plan for the forum. It just sort of grew. When I bought it it was suffering from an absentee owner and a tech guy that was great at optimizing for google searches but knew very little about graphic layout or standardization.

We currently have little templates all over the forum. Some of them are causing conflicts.

We also desperatly need an advertising plan. As we are the world's largest Kilt forum we have companies contacting us to advertise but we currently can't bring them on because there is no room.

So, I'm looking for someone to help out. I would like some fancy skin for the forum but we don't have a lot of money because we can't accept any more advertisers.

I also need to have someone teach me how to be an admin. Or at least teach me enough so I don't screw things up too much.

Well, that's all for now. I'll be reading and catching up on things for a while but if you have suggestions I'd like to hear them.

2. Tom

Tom Regular Member

Welcome, I'm the one that referred you.

Nice having you here, and we'll certainly show you the ropes.

3. Noles

Noles Adept

First Name:
    Ryan
    Welcome to AA.

There are many clean and simple free vBulletin skins you can get here.

Do those advertisers not want their advert on the bottom (where there's plenty of room)?