Shared hosting question

Discussion in 'Domains, Hosting and Servers' started by Fleur, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. Fleur

    Fleur Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    So I already have hosting sorted (getting the hosting from Hawk Host) and wondered if I could host multiple websites on a shared account. I am a total newb I know
     
  2. benjaminp

    benjaminp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    England
    If they allow you to host "addon domains" it's possible yes.

    Just had a look over at their website and it appears that all their plans offer unlimited addon domains.
     
    Dan Hutter likes this.
  3. DarkGizmo

    DarkGizmo Mr. Awesome

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    NYC
    As Ben said. You can host as many sites as you want under your shared account. You just have to be mindful to your bandwidth limit depending on which plan you get. I use hawkhost and I went with their largest plan "Super" which gives me 360GB bandwidth a month and 24GB disc space. More then enough for me IMO and their hosting and support is top-notch. No one compares to them from what I've seen so far :D
     
  4. cpvr

    cpvr Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    823
    I believe you can. Just ask them for help and they'll also help you setup everything for multiple domains.
     
  5. forumhookers

    forumhookers Regular Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tirunelveli
    Hawk Host has some huge price!

    Guys i can help you all, get a VPS for 3$ and host upto 3 forums in!

    Need help in setting VPS ask me!
     
  6. benjaminp

    benjaminp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    England
    Most people prefer managed services. While you can get an unmanaged low end box for next to nothing, you then have to worry about your own management and security.
     
  7. Fleur

    Fleur Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks everyone for the help and @cpvr thank you I had no idea they would help me set it up :)
     
  8. benjaminp

    benjaminp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    England
    There really isn't much to setup; you should be able to do it yourself without many problems.

    Set your new domain's nameservers to the same as your main domain.
    Head over to cpanel, click on addon domains and enter your new url.
    I just use the password gen for the addon domain as it's largely irrelevant.
    You'll now have a new folder in your public_html folder named the same as your new domain. Put any files relating to your new domain here.

    That's about it from cpanel, but it's off the top of my head, so if I've missed anything or if you have any questions, feel free to ask :)
     
  9. Seahunter

    Seahunter Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    Most hosters let you have an add-on domain on 1 hosting account. It would be a seperate domain and would just be a sub folder of your primary domain. It's transparent to any users and costs less than buying another primary domain.
     

Share This Page