More, and frequent Database Errors

Discussion in 'Admin Talk Support & Feedback' started by Carlos, May 10, 2012.

  1. Carlos

    Carlos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    California
    One in 5 minutes, I find this error:

    "An unexpected error occurred. Please try again later."

    Sometimes within seconds of loading new pages...?
     
  2. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    are you talking about errors on admin talk or general forums?
    What exactly are you doing to get these errors, what browsers are you using.

    screenshots are very helpful

    thanks
    -Brandon
     
  3. Carlos

    Carlos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    California
    I was using Admin Talk. My browser of choice is FireFox (v12.0).

    I exited a page, to load a new page, like a forum, or post. The worst one came when I was viewing a thread in it's second or third page.
     
  4. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Please post the actual database errors you see.
    We haven't had any reports for a while and the site has been heavily used.
     
  5. cpvr

    cpvr Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    823
    I'm guessing this problem is now resolved? I've yet to receive any db errors. And the site did go down last week if I remember correctly because I sent @Brandon a tweet on Twitter. I'm usually on throughout the day, browsing and replying to topics and this hasn't popped yet for me.

    Hopefully we can get it resolved though, thanks @Carlos
     
  6. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Ya we did have server issues recently but that shouldn't of caused DB errors.

    I'm guess it's fixed as well or was never broken :p
     
  7. Carlos

    Carlos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    California
    I think the error had more to do with the server's heavy traffic on that particular cluster. Ya know, at the time I got them, but I haven't caught the error again. :( I guess I'll have to wait for the next one. Seemed like nobody believed me. :(

    My server recently got the same error that I saw on Admin Talk. I was like "Whoa! That looks like an Admin Talk error!" :eek:

    EDIT: Ah HA! I caught you errors!

    You thought you could escape me, didn't you!?

    Alas! Screenshots!

    error.png

    And another one, while responding to Mr. CPVR!
    error2.png
     
  8. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    hmm, very strange
    I'll check the error stack and see what's triggering it

    *edit*
    It looks like it was from a social media link I had in place, I've removed it.

    Do let us know if it happens to you again @Carlos

    Thanks
     
  9. Dan Hutter

    Dan Hutter aka Big Dan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    New York
    I got the same error last night just refreshed the page and it went away.
     
  10. Iconic

    Iconic The Original

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
    I am getting more and more of them. Started about 2 weeks ago. I normally just refresh.
     
  11. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    What!!!

    Ok, I'll take a look at the log tonight

    This is all with the white/blue style correct?
     
  12. Iconic

    Iconic The Original

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
    I assumed it was the default theme.
     
  13. Carlos

    Carlos Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    California
    Same here.
     
  14. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    That is our default theme, just trying to narrow down things before I go digging. :)

    *it may have something to do with the single sign on mod, I've asked the devs*
     
  15. Dan Hutter

    Dan Hutter aka Big Dan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    New York
    PS: I got an 'unspecificed error' while commenting on your blog post Brandon. My comment appeared after refreshing.

    Edit:

    Sorry, wrong site that was on GF.
     
  16. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    thanks @Dan Hutter

    There is an update to the single sign on mod, I'm going to apply it tonight and see if that was the problem
     
    Iconic and Dan Hutter like this.
  17. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Well didn't get it last night but I will soon

    *We're running the latest build, 1.0.7 now*
     
  18. Iconic

    Iconic The Original

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Australia
  19. benjaminp

    benjaminp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    England
    I actually had two last night. It's actually the first time I've had them.
     
  20. Dan Hutter

    Dan Hutter aka Big Dan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    New York
    Same here got the same error "Unexpected DB error" on both AT and GF after logging in at roughtly 2:30-3:00 am (EDT). I'm guessing there's a session sync issue with the multiple logon mod.
     
Similar Threads
Loading...

Share This Page