Fireboard

Discussion in 'Community Forum Software' started by Patrick, Dec 28, 2007.

1. Patrick

Patrick Regular Member

I'm a novice forum admin, as I only run one. I have a community as part of www.moonlightfans.com, which is my fansite for the CBS TV series Moonlight.

I use the Joomla! CMS, and there's only one native forum component... Fireboard.

While production and development on the software was going really well for six months, it randomly came to a standstill, and developers abandoned the project, which is an unfortunate side effect of Open Source.

Fireboard has alot of great features, but is just not efficient at all at utilizing server resources. It's pretty much the single reason I had to switch from a shared to VPS server.

So, if you use Joomla! and are considering using Fireboard... DON'T! It's not worth it at all.

Rockettheme is developing a PHPBB3 Bridge, which looks very promising. Also, there's a SMF bridge out there which works remarkably.

2. Chris

Chris Regular Member

First of all, Patrick, welcome aboard! :)

Indeed, Joomla! Fireboard is a nice piece of software, and is also quite customizable (in fact, an excellent example of a nicely customized Fireboard community is Moonlight Fans, if I must say so myself). ;) It's going to be interesting to see how development on the phpBB3 bridge turns out, simply because there aren't many "bridged" forum alternatives available today for Joomla! users (which is quite sad). While I've never used the SMF bridge, I have heard from multiple people that it does indeed work fantastically, and is also very easy to manage.

Chris

3. Patrick

Patrick Regular Member

Thanks Chris!