Yup, Another Noobie (here at least :p )

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Chani, Sep 2, 2009.

1. Chani

Chani Grand Master

First Name:
    Chani
    :hello:

My name is Chani.

I'm the owner/administrator of three forums (I have yet another license, but I haven't had the chance to set it up yet).

I've been an administrator of another forum, tho I don't even visit there anymore.

I started with phpBB (the other forum in question), and even set up a couple of my own phpBB forums for my family to replace their MyFamily site, which I thought was horribly out of date.

Eventually the other forum that I was an admin on decided to test vBulletin. I took to it right away and loved it!

They ended up not using that license, tho, so I took it over for myself and created Astromech Factory (Yes, I'm a Star Wars geekette :p ).

Then I bought another license for a site that I was trying to set up for a friend of my mom's, but I didn't know enough PHP to mod vBA the way I wanted to, so I transferred that license to http://www.teegopher.com , but that forum is pretty much sitting there not doing anything at the moment. I still need to change the way vBA Links image uploads work and give it a rating system and a sort of a payment system for it. I'll get to that soon and get that forum going.

The third is a private forum, and will not be named.

Finally, I'm trying to decide what I want to do with my fourth license. I'd kinda like a political forum, but I'm also trying to figure out if I could mod it to make a store for the apparel that we decorate and sell.

I just bought the new subscription to WebAssist's Super Suite (Monthly in case I don't like it), so I may go that way for my store (I like Zen-Cart, too, but I don't like the way it's programmed).

I'm trying to learn PHP i my spare time. I can usually figure out what a piece of code is doing when I look at existing scripts, but writing my own is still a little difficult for me. I have a long way to go... :o