Why does everyone hate phpBB?

Discussion in 'phpBB Discussions' started by jlevi, Aug 28, 2009.

1. jlevi

jlevi Addict

First Name:
    Joel
    Why does everyone seem to hate phpBB? I mean, just looking at AdminAddict everyone seems to use another forum software, and there's only half a dozen threads in the phpBB section on AdminAddicts.

I actually use phpBB for my forum, and think it's fine. I really like the interface compared with vBulletin and others, and it's really easy to customise IMHO. I'm a relatively new forum admin, so perhaps there's something I don't know. Is there a reason that people don't like phpBB? :)

2. FullMetalBabe

FullMetalBabe Zealot

MyBB>phpBB any day.

3. jlevi

jlevi Addict

First Name:
    Joel
    But why? What makes it so much better than phpBB?

IMO the MyBB interface looks much worse, although I understand it's not all about looks.

4. FullMetalBabe

FullMetalBabe Zealot

Lolwuuut???

Not really, I hate the default look of phpBB pretty much. MyBB, I can make wonders, for phpBB, it's so messy[template system], just a 'despicable' interface for me.

Everyone to it's own I guess.

5. gnatster

gnatster Regular Member

First Name:
    Nathan
    Hate is kinda strong. I think a lot of us just have not been exposed. The first forum I ever become a moderator on was using vBulletin hence I've learned the vB way of things. Ever since I've tended to stick with vB since that is what I know. Now that I do vB mods I don't even look at other software as I just don't have the time right now.

6. Ryan

Ryan Regular Member

I have been using vBulletin for about 2 years, I am used to the way it works which is why I would personally pick it over anything else.

But jlevi I do like what you have done to your phpBB board.

7. jlevi

jlevi Addict

First Name:
    Joel