Tapatalk or ForumRunner?

Discussion in 'Community Forum Software' started by TSUFanatic, Sep 15, 2012.

1. TSUFanatic

TSUFanatic Regular Member

Which one do you prefer to use? I've never used FR before, therefore I prefer Tapatalk.

2. David

David Regular Member

I dont even know what ForumRunner is or what it does.

Tapatalk I haven't used in a few years either, so i'd imagine it's better since the last i used it.

3. dojo

dojo Regular Member

I have installed tapatalk. haven't used it myself and to be honest I haven't yet checked with my members to see if they're using it either.

4. CallieJo

CallieJo Regular Member

First Name:
    CallieJo
    I don't use either one. I prefer mobile skins.

ForumRunner is owned by IB. If you run VB, they make it available for you to sign up.

5. BullsNet

BullsNet Regular Member

First Name:
    Gabe
    I've never used forum runner but i use tapatalk exclusively for my forum.

I like it much better than a mobile style because you get live updates the only thing is

1. I wish the polling time for the notifications of new posts/pm was shorter than like 15 mins. You get updated every 15 mins with the app.
    Of course using a mobile style you dont get ANY alerts.

2. WHenever I am on the site via my computer it annoys me that i will still get alerts through the app and then i'll miss them.
    For instance a member sent me a PM and it alerted me on my phone but i didn't check my phone and it didn't show up on the actual website.
    I didn't notice the notification on my phone until 2 hours later.

Overall though me gusta :D

6. Kev@ITK

Kev@ITK Regular Member

First Name:
    Kev
    Why didn't it show up on the site?

7. Oldiesmann

Oldiesmann Regular Member

First Name:
    Michael
    I've never used FR either - most of the forums I'm on don't have it (and the few that do also have Tapatalk), and it's not compatible with SMF, so I can't try it on any of my own forums.

8. Kakeru

Kakeru Addict