How do people make money through AdSense/Advertisements?

Discussion in 'SEO, Traffic and Revenue' started by ConfabIt, May 26, 2013.

1. ConfabIt

ConfabIt Regular Member

I know this may seem like an odd question, but hear me out...

As a user of a lot of forums, I *never* click advertisements or AdSense links, no matter how relevant or interesting they may be to me. I just never do, and I know a lot of people are exactly the same way. Yet I hear stories of forums that generate £££ of revenue through these methods, and I don't quite understand how. Are these genuine clicks or just bots? Do people find subtle ways to get people to click?

Unfortunately I can't find out for myself because my forum violates AdSense T&C's (they won't allow sex and suicide discussions), which is a damn shame because it was going to be my main source of revenue. I'm actually quite stuck right now because I'm completely new to administration and have no idea what the alternatives are.

2. Zerth

Zerth Regular Member

Hmm, well that's true, myself would never click on a adsense advert even if it was something that was targeted towards me.
    But for adsense, I believe you get paid for impressions as well. So for the forums with a lot of active members, they'd be getting a lot impressions, which means a lot of cash.
    However, there are still a few people who would actually click on the adverts if it was something that would definitely interest them.
    Also, it is possible with a large community on a forum, people can accidently click on a add if it was displayed on your first post. They wouldn't get a lot of clicks, but still get a few which can be a lot of money from adsense.

3. Stockgenius

Stockgenius Regular Member