Do you name your test forums?

Discussion in 'Community Forum Software' started by Marc, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. Marc

    Marc Checkmate - Game Over

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    74
    I'm just curious but do you name your test forums?
    I know some people name their test forums - area51, etc. Do you guys give your test forum(s) a name?
     
  2. Dan Hutter

    Dan Hutter aka Big Dan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    New York
    I don't have a test board per say if anyone wants to play around with forum features they're free to do so in one of the off topic boards.

    Development boards, normally nothing special just dev.<domain.com>. Registration disabled everything blocked from spiders.
     
  3. karoshio

    karoshio Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    42
    All my test boards usually get named for their purpose.
    Example: A board I am working on themes for I will name something like 'Theme Development".
     
  4. Brandon

    Brandon Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    1,706
    Location:
    Topeka, Kansas
    First Name:
    Brandon
    I don't have a "test" forum either but I have used staff sections or private forums to test things out and get input.
    It's rarely a public forum though.
     
  5. Creaky

    Creaky Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    London
    I don't have a test forum on my host, any testing is done locally.
     
  6. cpvr

    cpvr Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    823
    I've never used a test board either. I do all my testing on the regular boards. And I have my staff forum where we test new things out before they go live.
     
  7. Marc

    Marc Checkmate - Game Over

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    74
    Err.. It's not recommended to do testing on a live forum, ;)
    One mistake and Boom!

    Jerry noticed the forum is messed up and thinks the forum admin is on crack, :whistle:
     
  8. gallitin

    gallitin Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Kansas City
    First Name:
    Nathan
    I normally put mine on a subdomain, dev.domain.com
     
  9. Sejper

    Sejper Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    My currently test install of xenforo is simple named XenForo but that's because its on a seperate domain speciell for my development. It is a short and good domain :)
     
  10. etc

    etc I should be busy.

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    intarnet
    I don't test on live forum. I usually install LAMP on local machine to test things. But YES, I name categories and forum of the forum like Test or My forum :D nothing especial actually but I get to know its for testing :D
     
  11. Naiwen

    Naiwen Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats a curious question, no I just name it test board. XD
     
  12. Allan

    Allan It's All Good

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    Same here I just name them Test.
     
  13. Marc

    Marc Checkmate - Game Over

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    74
    Yeah, that's what I started doing when my unused domains are near the expiry date and I don't want to waste cash to renew 'em for testing, ;)
    There's always thousands of sub-domains to create, :love:
     
  14. Coastercraze

    Coastercraze Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Poland, Ohio
    That's what I do is test stuff in the "staff area". Works just as good and staff usually know if it's a test or not :P
     
  15. tronik

    tronik Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't have any test forums, if for any reason I need to test something in the forums. I'll do it the staff boards.
     
  16. benjaminp

    benjaminp Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    England
    I don't really see the need for a test forum personally. Users can edit posts within the first hour of posting so if they make a mistake they can simply edit the post.
     

Share This Page