Your forum's inspiration

Discussion in 'Managing Your Online Community' started by Nick, May 18, 2009.

1. Nick

Nick Regular Member

Coming up with a topic and unique idea for a new forum isn't the easiest thing in the world. Where did you get the inspiration and motive to create your community? Has it turned out to become what you wanted?

2. islesv

islesv Novice

My forum is about Philippine education. For a starter, I'm a teacher myself. I have searched for some forum which already fulfilled the need for teachers from the Philippines (why would I start something if it's already there :)) and there were two such forums. The problem was that one had obviously an agenda to spread, an agenda which is frowned upon by the rest of Philippine society, while the other was dominated by one aggressive poster who's not even a teacher himself, and the management won't do anything about that poster. So I told myself, ok, I'll create one.

3. lordtopcat

lordtopcat Adept

First Name:
    Jamie
    Forum ideas are definitely difficult to come up with. I think you and I know that Nick, Lol.

4. Chris

Chris Regular Member

The inspiration for my community? My passion for cars.

I've found that so many of the forums that you see up and running today were created just for kicks - or in other words, the founders of the communities really have no passion for the subject matter at hand. Running and managing a successful discussion forum takes time and dedication, and if either one of those factors are somehow missing from the equation, the chance of a forum succeeding is slim. In short, you gotta' love the subject that you're talking about!

5. 50calray

50calray Grand Master

First Name:
    Ray