Search Engine Friendly URLs

Discussion in 'SEO, Traffic and Revenue' started by drumming207, Jun 23, 2009.

1. drumming207

drumming207 Adept

Alright, I'm a newbie in regard to owning a Forum and everything SEO. I noticed the AA Forum has Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0.

Is this "worth it?"

I'm unsure of what the must have SEO "toys" Forums should have. :confused:

2. kev

kev Regular Member

I have heard mixed results. Some people say its must have, while others say its not needed. I will tell you this, it is not required to rank well in google.

There are a lot of forums that rank in the top places in google and do not use a url rewrite tool.

My personal opinion, it helps, and it might help a lot. But, if your site has been online for 2, 3 or 4 years, then I do not recommend that you install it. Google would have to reindex your site with all of the new urls.

From what I heard, the new version of vbulettin is supposed to have a url rewrite feature. If anything, I am going to wait until that is released.

3. drumming207

drumming207 Adept

Thanks Kevin.

4. Tyler

Tyler The Badministrator

First Name:
    Tyler
    Kevin made a good point about the friendly URL change in vBulletin 4. I would probably wait to check that out before you purchase vBSEO. ;)

5. Nick

Nick Regular Member

It's certainly not required or even necessary in order to achieve substantial SERPs. My Linnie forum doesn't have any SEO add-on and it's in the top 5 results for its keyword and phrases. The only things beating me are older domains (most of which are static and outdated websites). As soon as my domain gets some years behind it (it's not even two years old) then I think I will be climbing to the top spot.