Pros and Cons of an IP Board?

Discussion in 'Community Forum Software' started by 50calray, Aug 9, 2010.

1. 50calray

50calray Grand Master

First Name:
    Ray
    Hello people,

I'm contracting a professional web designer to build a custom skin for my site. Anyhow, the designer was asking if I ever thought about switching to an IP Board. Now to be honest, I actually like the looks of the IP board but I'm looking for pros and cons of switching to the IPB? I'm currently using 3.8.4.

Thanks,

Ray

2. MordyT

MordyT Grand Master

First Name:
    Mordy
    Question for you: Do you pan on switching to xenforo when it comes out?

3. 50calray

50calray Grand Master

First Name:
    Ray
    Nope.

2 people like this.
  4. Mikey

Mikey Mikeylicio.us

Well, I've never personally switched to IPB from vBulletin, but I'm pretty much a vBulletin nut, so when I started my newer community, The Geek District - it was something new, an experience, and in truth, I'm still learning.

One of the biggest drawbacks for me, was having to learn everything again. IP.Content beats vBAdvanced hands down, but vBA is more usable. IP.Blogs, again, beat vB Blogs hands down, but again, vB Blogs are more usable. As for the forums/topics - they're relatively the same.

I still can't make mods or skins for IPB, but I love that there is such an extensive (even if fractured) modding community, some great sites for skins and mods, some of the pre made designs for IPB which are cheaper than most vB skins are truly stunning, almost custom skins in their own right.

5. Abomination

Abomination Zealot

I found it far more difficult to get paid technical help with ipb, and without that I cannot use it. In addition, it seems like really basic things such as UI does not have as much emphasis as coding for speed and reliability.