Hacking Threats

Discussion in 'Security and Legal' started by The Hat Tipper, Nov 27, 2010.

1. The Hat Tipper

The Hat Tipper Regular Member

How do you respond to threats to hack your website/forum?

I throw most away because most likely they are just trying to make me scared and listen to them. I have received 8 since I have been running forums, only one I took serious because it came from some underground large hacking group. they just requested a couple posts about a subject be removed.

2. Hitakashi

Hitakashi Regular Member

I don't remember getting any hacking threats, but a site we host did get one (I think if i remember) and it took down 2 nodes, and a test node our provider had.

3. Elizabeth

Elizabeth Regular Member

I've been running forums now for almost six years and I've never had a hacking "threat". I have had two attempts but no one has ever threatened me. The attempts never succeeded because our server security was too good. (on our own self managed vps at the time).

Even on shared hosting, you can take steps to avoid being hacked....one is to avoid using popular hackable forum software. Another, make your password 8-12 letters, numbers, and characters all mixed. And change it a minimum of every 3 months. If your software supports it, add yourself to the configuration file as a owner. In vb, the section is known as unalterable/undeletable users. Some call them Super Admins when added to the configuration file.

4. kavin

kavin Regular Member

I never had any threats. I was working as a moderator of a blackhat community (I'm not a hacker by the way). So i can handle any threats using them. :p

5. Kaiser

Kaiser Regular Member

I never had any either, but most of the time its a low life couch potato trying to scare someone who dosent know anything about hacking.

kavin likes this.
  6. Grumpy

Grumpy Regular Member